

Minutes of the 8th European Orthodontic Teachers' Forum Reykjavik, 26.06.2013

Chairpersons: A.M. Kuijpers Jagtman, S. Kiliaridis, P. Pirttiniemi

Attendees: 95 attendants

1. Words of welcome and announcements

Professor Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman opened the meeting at 8.45hr and welcomed the participants. This was the 8th time European teachers in orthodontics could meet prior to the EOS Annual Congress. She introduced the co-chairpersons and briefly outlined the aims of the Teachers Forum. The number of attendants is the highest ever since we started the Forum (95 participants!) and she apologizes that obviously the room is too small, due to the fact that not everybody pre-registered.

The European Orthodontic Teachers Forum now has its own discussion group on the professional social network Linked In www.linkedin.com. This is a closed discussion forum for all who are involved in orthodontic teaching within the boundaries of Europe. Search on the IlnkedIn website under the tab 'groups' for EOTF. If you are not yet a member of Linked In, please do so and then send a request to join the EOTF group through the Linked In website.

The position of the Teachers' Forum "under the umbrella of the EOS" is still a matter of debate.

2. Minutes of the last meeting (Santiago de Compostela, 2011)

The minutes were approved.

3. Progress report of NEBEOP

Professor Stavros Kiliaridis presented a report on the progress of the NEBEOP (Network of Erasmus Based European Orthodontic Programs) and the advances towards a harmonization of the Orthodontic specialist education in Europe since its start in 2008.

The first site visits have taken place and NEBEOP has now 4 full members (Amsterdam, Geneva, Oslo, Oulu). 14 assessors from all over Europe, not involved in any of the programs that will be assessed, are doing the site visits.

The Task Force that was established to update the contents of the 1992 Erasmus program finished their work. This group consists of Jan Huggare (Sweden, chairperson), Kathryn Derringer (UK), Ted Eliades (Greece), Marie Filleul (France), Roberto Martina (Italy), Pertti Pirttiniemi (Finland), Sabine Ruf, and Rainer Schwestka-Polly (Germany). Professor Kiliaridis once agin thanked the Task Force for their important work.

Furthermore professor Kiliaridis outlined how a program director could become a provisional member of NEBEOP and how a provisional membership can become full membership.

4. WORKSHOP Competency based postgraduate education

Lia Fluit MD, MSc, Academic Educational Institute, Head Section Evaluation, Quality and Development, and **Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman**, DDS, PhD, Department of Orthodontics and Craniofacial Biology, both working at the Radboud University Medical Centre, Nijmegen, The Netherlands ran a workshop on assessment of residents in a competency based specialist program.

The following topics were discussed in a general session and in small groups: Workplace based assessment (what is it, principles, forms), use of portfolios, mini CEX (mini Clinical Evaluation Exercise) and OSATS (Objective Structured Assessment of Technical Skills), Multi Source Feedback. A practical exercise was done on the use of the mini CEX by observation of a video of a first consultation of a patient followed by providing feedback.

The workshop was concluded with a lively discussion in small groups on strong and weak points of the feedback instruments and formulation of implementation strategies.

5. Closure of the meeting

Professor Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman concluded a successful meeting at 14.00hr and thanked Dr. Lia Fluit for her inspiring workshop and all attendees for their active participation. The next meeting will take place in Warsaw in June 2014, again prior to the EOS Annual Congress.

Nijmegen, Geneva, Oulu July 2013

Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman, Stavros Kiliaridis, Pertti Pirttiniemi